When I stumbled across this recipe the other day on Chocolate Covered Katie‘s blog, I was so excited. First, because it’s chocolate (and who doesn’t get excited about chocolate?), but also because it is free from so many allergens and very clean. Allergy- and New Year’s Resolution-friendly!
The chocolate could not have been any easier to make – in fact, I had to keep checking the recipe to make sure I didn’t miss anything! And, because my mom bought coconut oil just the other day, we had every ingredient on hand.
I made just a few changes to the original recipe based on the comments section and my love of sea salt and dark chocolate. We didn’t have any agave nectar or liquid stevia, so I used honey, as some commenters suggested, and it turned out brilliantly. The sea salt is an essential secret ingredient, in my opinion – it helps bring out both the rich and sweet tastes of the bars.
Sea Salted Dark Chocolate Bars (E, N, D, GF)
very slightly adapted from this amazing recipe
– 4 tbsp. organic coconut oil, melted
– 1/4 cup honey, organic if possible
– 1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp. cocoa powder, organic if possible
– sea salt
- Melt coconut oil in a microwave-safe bowl.
- Add honey and stir to combine.
- Add cocoa powder slowly, stirring until the mixture has thickened and turned dark.
- Between to sheets of wax paper, flatten out the chocolate into a bar about 1/4-1/2 inch thick, depending on your preferences.
- Sprinkle the top with sea salt.
- Place in the fridge or freezer until it has solidified.
- Cut into bars and store in the freezer.
I think the thing I love most about this recipe, other than the dark chocolate taste, is the fact that it has such few ingredients. I feel much better about eating it than I do a store-bought bar that has weird, artificial things in it.
Thanks again to Katie for sharing this recipe!
P.S. Is anybody as excited as I am for the Downton Abbey Season 3 Premiere tonight???
Edited to add: I’ve linked this recipe up to What’s Cookin’ Wednesday, courtesy of Karly at Buns in My Oven!
Edited 8/25/15: I had very mistakenly called this recipe “vegan”, but as one reader pointed out, honey is not vegan. My apologies!